Stream KCHI Live 24/7!

Farmers Electric Cooperative Essay Winners

The winners of the 57th annual Farmers’ Electric Cooperative essay contest have been announced and all five are from Chillicothe this year.  FEC Communications Manager Chasity Anderson says due to COVID 19, the prizes this year are a bit different.

The year’s Junior that will receive scholarships are – 1st place – Carter Allen a junior at Chillicothe High School. He is the son of Jill Allen of Chillicothe.  2nd place – Emma Rule, a junior at Chillicothe High School and daughter of Scott and Lisa Rule of Chillicothe.

The top three sophomore essayists are also from Chillicothe. Tayler Epperson, daughter of Jeremy and Monica Epperson, won first place. Leah Lourenco, daughter of Jason and Kristen Lourenco, placed second in the contest. Libby Washburn, daughter of Jessica and Brandon Williams and Scott Washburn, won third place.

Judging of the contest is a blind judging, so the judges are not aware of the author of the essay or what school they attend.

%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: