Chillicothe Track and Field Sending 24 to Sectionals

On Saturday, Chillicothe High School’s track and field teams competed in the Class 3 District 8 district meet at Jerry Litton Memorial Stadium.

The top four individuals and relay teams in each event move on to the Sectional Meet on May 21 out at Odessa High School.  Those sectional qualifiers include:

Kayanna Cranmer in the 400 meter dash and 800 meter run. She took first in the 400 with a time of 1:00.6 and second in the 800 meter with a time of 2:26.50.

Jolie Bonderer won first place in the 1600 meter run with a time of 5:45.47.

Cain Evans’ third-place 4:59.93 finish in the 1600 also birthed him to sectionals, he also qualified in the 3200 meter run with an 11:54.26 which was third best.

The 3200 meter sectional run will also feature Clayton Savage who took fourth in districts with his 12:03.25 run time.

Braxten Johnson is heading to sectionals for both hurdles competitions. In the 110 meter hurdles he took second with a time of 15.76 seconds he also took first in the 300 meter hurdles in 42.63 seconds. Johnson will also compete in long jump at sectionals after finishing in 4th place at districts with a 6.06 meter leap.

Emmy Dillon will head to sectionals for the 100 meter hurdles which she finished in third at Saturday’s meet with a time of 17.54.

Chillicothe Lady Hornets will have relay teams represented in the 4×400 meter and 4×800 meter relays.  While the Hornets will send relay teams to sectionals in the 4×400 meter relay and 4×800 meter run.

Kayla Cakranata (2nd with 2.15 meters) and Sarah Boon (4th with 2.15 meters) will both advance to sectionals in pole vault.

Gavin Funk is a district champion in pole vault, he cleared 3.65 meters.  Charles Walker is also headed to sectionals on his second place finish (3.20 meters) in pole vault.

Demarcus Kelow is officially a district champion of shot put (16.01 meters) and discus (54.20 meters).  Kelow will be joined by Isaiah Sprong in discus who finished third with a 40.80 meter toss.

Cy Evans is a district champion in javelin with a 48.46 meter throw. Isaiah Sprong will also advance to sectionals for javelin after finishing fourth with a 39.55 meter throw.

Hope Helton took first in javelin with a toss of 37.20 meters which was good for first place.

Finally, Anna Pfaff is headed to sectionals after her 9.57 meters in long jump placed fourth.

In total, Chillicothe will be represented 24 times during the sectional meet this coming Saturday.

As individual programs, both the Lady Hornets and Hornets finished in second place in the home event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.