Stream KCHI Live 24/7!

FEMA Area Counties List – Updated

The number of Missouri Counties now eligible for Federal Disaster Assistance has grown to 26 with the addition of six more counties, all of which are outside of the KCHI listening area.
John Mills with the FEMA office in Jefferson City tells KCHI that FEMA has paid more than $150,000 in flood insurance claims in Grundy County. A Major Disaster Declaration is not required for people to submit insurance claims.
The newly added counties are Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton and Saline.
In the KCHI area, Carroll, Chariton, and Livingston counties were already approved for Federal Money.
To be eligible for federal assistance with in one of the counties must have occurred April 29th through July 5th during the storms, flooding and tornadoes. Registration deadline is September 9th.
Disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary rental assistance, essential home repairs and other disaster-related needs.
To register for assistance, call 800-621-FEMA from 7am to 10pm.