Hughes & Meierer Named Teacher of the Year and Beacon Award Winners

The 2020 Teacher of the year and Beacon Awards were presented Monday afternoon in a ceremony at the Performing Arts Center.  Superintendent Dan Wiebers announced this year’s winners.  For the Beacon Award, the 2020 recipient is Evet Meierer from the Chillicothe High School.  Wiebers read these words about Meierer from CHS Principal Dan Nagel.

The 2020 Teacher of the Year for the Chillicothe R-II School District is Jenny Hughes.  Superintendent Wiebers read quotes from essay questions the candidates were asked to answer.

The awards are presented with the assistance of the Chillicothe Education Foundation, who provides the prize money that is presented to each of the nominees and the winners both for their classroom and for themselves.

The Teacher of the Year award has been presented in the Chillicothe School District for 28 years.  The Beacon Awards have been presented for 12 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

four + 18 =