Federal Disaster Declaration Approved

A major Disaster Declaration for portions of Missouri was approved by President Donald Trump.  The declaration includes 13 countries, including Carroll and Chariton Counties in the local area.  The declaration is for the flooding on the Missouri River from March 11th to April 16th.  The declaration makes assistance available to agencies assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Hazard Mitigation Program to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property due to natural hazards.

The federal government is still reviewing the request by Governor Mike Parson to provide Federal Emergency Management Agency assistance to individual residents in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, and Platte counties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.