Stream KCHI Live 24/7!

Carroll County Farmer Places In District Soybean Contest

The annual Missouri Soybean yield contest results have been compiled and a Carroll County farmer took 2nd in the local district.  Nathan White from White Farms had a yield of 74.6 bushels per acre using a no-till planting method.

Statewide, the overall winners in the irrigated and non-irrigated categories presented yields of 96.93 and 92.53 bushels per acre, respectively

The non-irrigated winner was from St. Charles County in the southeast part of the state.  The winner in the irrigated category was from Cape Girardeau County, also in southeast Missouri.

Brooks Hurst, a soybean farmer from Tarkio, Missouri and President of the Missouri Soybean Association, says the annual soybean yield contest showcase the determination and perseverance of Missouri soybean farmers.  He says “Farmers had a challenging season, but the statewide levels submitted were a result of great stewardship and attention to detail.